Friday, October 10

*** Blog Tour, Review and Giveaway *** Prima Donna by Laura Drewy

Reactions: 


Title: Prima Donna
Author: Laura Drewy
Genre: Romance
Publication Date: September 23, 2014
Add to: Goodreads
Purchase Links:  Amazon US  /  Amazon CA  /  Amazon UK  /  B&N  /  Kobo











Synopsis 


In USA Today bestselling author Laura Drewry’s witty, sizzling, and tender romance for readers of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery, a woman who can’t slow down discovers that the perfect guy is in hot pursuit.

Even when her hair salon goes under and she’s on the brink of breaking, Regan Burke keeps her “I’m just fine” attitude. She’s had a tough life, coping with a difficult family and keeping her act together . . . barely. Right now, she just needs a job, any job, so she can pay her mother’s medical bills. It’s the exact wrong time for Carter Scott to come into her life—and to be so damn sexy, so distracting, and so determined to get close.

Carter isn’t looking for anything serious—his heart belongs to the kids who depend on his pediatric practice—but something about Regan makes him reconsider. Maybe it’s the scars she hides so well, the secrets she can’t share. Carter knows all about that kind of pain, and he wants to help. But offering Regan a job in his office only makes things worse, even if their chemistry is off the charts. Lucky for them both, Carter isn’t about to let go of love without a fight.





My Review

Prima Donna was the first book I’ve read by author Laura Dewry and I can say that it won’t be my last! I will definitely go back and start with Plain Jayne.

Prima Donna is a completely heartwarming story of Regan and Carter, two people finding their way to each other, despite either of them wanting or looking for anything other than a hook up.

But who can deny a sexy biker??? Especially one who happens to be a sexy pediatrician with a super big heart and just the right touch of alpha goodness?

Certainly not Regan Burke that’s for sure!

We meet Ragan and right away I feel for her character, she’s in the middle of closing down her beauty salon, after the landlord decides not to renew her lease. As she’s packing Carter makes an appearance that leads to more than a haircut and a helping hand. Her character is awesome! I really liked how she wasn’t pathetic and all boo- hoo despite being in a pretty bad spot in life.  

I really loved Carter’s character and how this once bad boy player is sooo smitten by the wonderfully independent and quick witted Regan. The story is full of sexual tension and chemistry than is so believable I just sat back and cheered these two on to just give in already! To finally let all the walls down and realize that they are honestly perfect for each other!

I found the story was well paced and flowed really well. The characters were well developed and I cannot wait to read more about the secondary characters as well. Except Ben… I don’t like him and definitely need to read Plain Jayne to see what his deal is.

As the story progresses we see an amazing friendship form between Regan and Carter, one where they allow themselves to eventually trust and love. The support they give one another is amazing and I just can’t get enough of Carter! I loved getting to be a part of these two coming together.  Despite how painfully slow it may have been at times, but the flirting and sexual tension was worth it!

Besides some hot and sexy moments between Regan and Carter I need to mention that this book has some of the best pick up lines in it that I have ever read!!! I was grinning ear to ear at their cleverness! Like soooo cute!

“Gimme a second, I’m just warming up. How about this one: if you were a transformer, you’d be a hot-obot and your name would be Optimus Fine.”

LOL! Lines like this make this book one I will always remember for sure!


All and all this was a sweet read that I highly recommended if your looking for a 
not- looking -for -love -but- find -love story!







Reviewed  by Gillian Grybas




★★☆ 4 heartwarming Stars ☆★★





Buy it 
Read it 
Love it


Excerpt

Carter lifted her coat off one of the hooks on the wall and held it up for her. Yeah, she was fine all right; that’s why her arms shook so hard it took three tries to get them in the sleeves.
“Good luck,” Sid muttered. “I hope everything works out for you.”
“Thanks.”
Carter might have imagined it, but it almost seemed like she leaned into him a little, so he wrapped his arm around her shoulders and guided her out to her car.
“What an asshole.”
“It’s his building, Carter, he can do whatever he wants with it.” Regan’s shoulder lifted slightly as she sighed. “You can’t blame him for wanting to make a little money, can you?”
With no good answer, all Carter could do was squeeze her shoulder a little tighter.
“You going home?” he asked.
She pulled open the car door but didn’t get in; just rested her hand on it and nodded silently.
“Want some company?” he asked.
For a long moment, she just simply stood there looking at him, her eyes dulled by a sheen of disappointment. Disappointment in him. Ouch.
“Carter, look—”
“I didn’t mean that.” Carter stopped, grinned. “Okay, I wouldn’t say no, but I’m not a total dick, Red. You want to pretend this isn’t a big deal? No problem, I’ll play along. But I was just hoping you’d invite me over so I wouldn’t have to spend the whole afternoon with Ben.”
At least she gave him a half smile before she slipped behind the wheel and tucked her jacket in. He clicked the door closed behind her, then cursed every step back to his bike. He jerked his helmet off the handlebar and was about to jam it on his head when Regan’s window lowered.
“Hey, Carter!”
A cool guy would have walked back slowly instead of running. A cool guy would have watched where he was going instead of tripping off the curb and crashing into the rear bumper of her car.
At least he stuck the landing.
Bent at the waist, he gripped the edge of the window opening and watched her squeeze the steering wheel a couple times before she finally spoke.
“Don’t read anything else into this.” Her gaze brushed his, her voice a low mutter. “And it goes without saying I’ll be horrible company, but if you want to come over for . . . a sandwich . . . that’d be okay.”
“A sandwich?”
A sandwich,” she repeated with a little more emphasis than necessary.

“I like sandwiches.”







About the Author

Laura Drewry had been scribbling things for years before she decided to seriously sit down and write. After spending eight years in the Canadian north, Laura now lives back home in southwestern British Columbia with her husband, three sons, a turtle named Sheldon, and an extremely energetic German shepherd. She loves old tattered books, good movies, country music, and the New York Yankees.









Follow the author at these links
Website | Facebook | Twitter


GIVEAWAY


a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment: