Sunday, May 18

*** REVIEW *** Blessed (The United Series #1) by David Michael

Title: Blessed (The United Series #1) 
Author: David Michael 
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Publication Date: 21st December 2013
Add to: Goodreads
Purchase Links:  Amazon |  B&N


Her twenty-first birthday was supposed to be the beginning of a new chapter. She had been preparing herself for the moment she would be a real adult for months.

There was no way she could have prepared herself for what happened instead.

As her nightmares became more real with each night and her behavior became less like her own, Ardra fought to stay on the path she had so painstakingly planned for herself with very little success.

When she becomes the owner of a creepily-human dog named Kaiser, she finds herself oddly at peace with the unexpected addition to her household and clings tightly to him when tragedy strikes and shatters her world.

As she fights to put the pieces back together without losing herself in the Darkness that is building inside of her with each terrible step off of her path, a rag-tag band of supporters rally behind her. Each one of them prepared to go to the ends of the earth and back.

She must find a way to defeat the Chaos that has consumed her life or risk losing everyone and everything that she has left. Including her soul.

My Review

Blessed is the first book in the United Series, the story begins with Chaos coming to Earth for a purpose, Michael's writing of Chaos and his path of destruction had me hooked straight away, I actually felt like I could see the leaves rattling and nature actually fear him.

"He could feel it burning through his veins like magma, propelling him toward his destination.  He willed himself through safe and time with the power of thought for fuel and the Chaos in his body as his compass."

Then we meet Ardra who is a normal Mormon girl living in Utah. Ardra seems like any other young girl, goes to college, has a great best friend, and a wonderful family but things start to change for her.

Ardra turns 21 and begins having dreams and her behavior starts becoming out of her control, she's lashing out at people. Her life seems to be falling apart. She tries to keep herself together, but then she gets some shocking news. She learns that people in her life aren't who she thinks they are and she has a purpose in life, a big one, a battle between good and evil. 

"She was built to handle what was to come.  She didn't realize it yet, but she was slowly becoming the woman that would, with a lot of hard work and a little bit of luck, save the world." 

I'm not going to go into to much depth of this story as you find out more as you go along and I don't want to take away from that journey for you, as it's what makes it edge of your seat exciting.

David Michael writes a wonderful paranormal story, the writing drew me in, everything was explained in great detail. There were twists and turns those were the moments that kept me turning the pages.

Book 2 Cursed is out now, get it here

★★☆ 4 Stars ☆★★

Reviewed by Jess Mann 

Buy it 
Read it 
Love it

About the Author

David Michael, author of The United Series, is a self-proclaimed crazy cat lady, a hater of snow, a lover of Star Trek and has an addiction to coffee that is excessive even for an author.

He lives in Salt Lake City where he is currently majoring in Psychology, working a "big boy" job, and writing full time. He shares a living space with his best friend, idolizes his mother, and has a strange knack for making friends with people on the other side of the planet instead of his own back yard.

Follow the author at these links


No comments:

Post a Comment